The club is based in the market town of Bungay, North East Suffolk, in the picturesque Waveney Valley. The town is most famous for a visit in August 1577 from ‘Black Shuck’, aka the ‘Black Dog of Bungay’, which attacked several of the congregation in St Mary’s Church.
This has given rise to the club’s famous Black Dog emblem on our running tops. 2022 sees the 40th anniversary of the first Bungay marathon. The club is proud of its history and the iconic Black Dog, which is recognised in races across the country.